How Do You Use Google….


I love Google. I love searching the Internet. I love streamlining processes.

.

Okay, what do all of these have in common? I don’t think people realize all the cool things you can do within a search. I know I don’t know them all, but here are some of my favorites. Please let me know if you use other cool tricks like these.

.

1 – “What time is it in Paris”

If you search with that format (any city – even small towns), your top result is going to be this:

3:14am Friday (CEST) – Time in Paris, France – and that is awesome.

.

2 – “paste a tracking number here”

That is right, no longer do you need to go to UPS, FedEx, whatever…. If you need to know the location of a package (bad jokes), just paste it into the search bar and Google will return a link you can click on with the information you seek.

.

3 – “50 Euros in dollars”

Not only does it convert it well, but it gives you a chart showing the changes and another input box if you wanted to look up another value. Conversions are not limited to currency – use a similar format for the ounces in a pint (16 for non beer drinkers).

.

4 – “-Minus”

If you want to refine your results, try using a minus sign. I hate the sites that always seem to popup in my searches when I preface it “how to”…. Nothing a minus sign can’t handle. You can do this by simply putting “-site:fixya” at the end of your search.

.

5 – “Delta flight 5..”

Want to know a flight status? Why go to their site? Just start typing it. Now you likely will start seeing the results before you even finish the flight number.

.

6 – “filetype:doc”

Need a certain type of file for your result? Tell Google with this tag at the end of it. I use this a lot when I need to find powerpoints as examples (filetype:ppt).

.

7 – “define:long word”

Everyone uses Google to find the meaning of words. Get a better result this way.

.

8 – “location weather”

I search “Raleigh weather” almost every day. It’s the best/quickest way to find my local weather – both current and the forecast.

.

9 – “sin(90) / cos (90)”

I did not know this one – well, I knew you could type basic bath questions… but you can search Trig problems too. Where was this in my old days?

.

10 – I don’t have a number 10… I am hoping you do. Go.

.

.

Hope this helps!

 

About s15274n

I will do what I can to help support the Android Community!

Posted on September 29, 2011, in Advocate. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi my family member! I want to say that this article
    is amazing, nice written and come with approximately all important
    infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

