Q&A With A Developer – Jellette from EDT


Below is a Q&A with the founder of EDT, from early June. It was never finished but I felt it was good enough to post. Hope that you enjoy it.

.

.

.

One of my favorite articles in the short life of this blog has been the Q&A with Roman. Today I am pleased to not just have another Q&A, but one with the leader of Einherjar Development Team (EDT), Jellette from XDA (aka Heathen).

.

My intent is for you to really get to know the person, and the work they put into making your phone better. I will preface this article by saying that I was really shocked by some of the responses. I hope that you enjoy it. I will make my questions/comments in bold to help distinguish.

.

.

Jellette, I truly appreciate you taking the time to sit down and answer some questions. I received a ton of really positive feedback from the Q&A with Roman, who is on your team of developers.

.

Before we start talking about Android and developing, could you share a little about yourself… your name, where you went to school, those types of things…

.

Well, my name is James and I’m a 39 year old (40 next week…), happily married, father of three – ages 4, 12 and 21!

.

I was born in Redondo Beach, Ca. and have lived pretty much everywhere. I did my high schooling in Derby KS, Las Vegas and Tulsa Ok. After HS one of my brothers and I moved to NYC for about a year after that, I bounced around a bit and finally settled back in Tulsa where I am still living.

.

.

If you are not at work or working on Android, what do you enjoy doing – got hobbies?

.

I spend that time with my family. My hobbies are all computer related with the exception of my ocd-ish hunt for religious hats – I have no idea why… Need kippot or kufi, I’m your guy!

.

.

What is your “real” job? I’m going to go on a limb and assume it’s something related to programming based off your skill set.

.

Right and wrong. My main “real” job is as an emergency technician for a natural gas company. On the side I do web hosting and development for a glass company based in St. Louis, and run an ebay business.

.

.

I always like to ask about music… right or wrong, it is an easy way to label people. I think most would be surprised that I am a huge Blues/ Jam / Bluegrass kind of guy… So, what are 5 bands/groups that you’ve really been digging lately? When you are working on Android do you listen to a certain genre?

.

Here’s a shocker for you, the “Heathen” mainly listens to Christian music!

.

.

Beer, Wine, or Liquor?

.

Another shocker for you, I don’t drink at all. But when I used to drink, it was Heineken Warsteiners and Chaucers Honey Mead. I’m a pretty “pure” guy who doesn’t drink, eat red meat or take medicine – not even aspirin or antacids.

.

.

Throw out another random thing that people might be surprised to learn about you… other than the Heathen is a Christian.

.

I can read and somewhat speak Arabic, Farsi, German Vietnamese and Hebrew. I speak and read Spanish fluently.

.

.

If there was one thing you could learn to do, that you cannot currently… what would it be?

.

Kerneling like Curtis (Cmenard) or Java like Roman (birgertime). They are the best at what they do, period.

.

.

I think having that background info is really nice. It’s so nice to really get to know the person who works so hard to improve our phones, essentially for nothing. So, thank you for that. Now, lets talk Android some.

The first thing that pops into my head, HOLY SMOKES, I have the person who started Team EDT (Einherjar Development Team) talking to me… so, obvious question… what prompted you to start EDT?

.

Short and sweet: Roman made me!

.

History: I started my developing on the Team Whiskey (TW) site in my section, called “Heathens Repo”, inside the donators only area. I’m sure someone knows better than me, but I think my first Rom was sXe.

.

After being on TW for a while I decided to make the move to XDA. Everything went great until I released PepperKake. That ROM was attacked as a kanged TW release. At the same time my repo over at TW was deleted. I was devastated and in a childish move I removed everything I had from XDA.

.

Along comes Roman… He makes me give him the cpanel info to sxeweb and puts me back to work as he sets a site up for me. After several attempts to get him to develop, he finally gave in and joined me. I’ll also mention it was that way with all of the EDT developers, they made me ask them repeatedly until they joined!

.

Anyway, if you go back to my early roms, they were all named in a Norse manner. So it only made sense to me that if I was going to make a comeback after kanging out as a dev, and form a team, we would be the Einherjar.

.

You know the rest.

.

.

Since you are the head honcho, do you oversee all the projects for EDT, or do you just help your team out when they have questions on their own projects? How does the whole “team” thing work?

.

We do not police each other. We help where needed. Roman and Jon (whitehawk) work real close together on their projects and I pretty much stay out of their way. Same with Dan (Dan Brutal) and Demiurgic.

.

.

If someone has the skill set and was interested, how would they join EDT?

.

The best way in, is as a themer – someone who wants to expand their skill set. Especially now that Dan has moved up from mainly theming to taking over the Bi-Winning rom. I am, however, always looking for an understudy.

.

.

What is your favorite thing about developing for Android?

.

The feedback from people. I’m an attention whore I suppose.

.

.

Do you have a favorite developer or someone you credit for getting you started?

.

I give credit to Sombionix foremost as my inspiration.

.

.

What project(s) have you been working on lately?

.

I have quite a few unreleased roms right now.

Droid Charge port.

SK4g Port.

Optimus3D / kb5 hybrid.

Plus, plus.

.

.

Donations. What do they mean to you? Do you make a lot from donations?

.

I do not personally accept donations. I instructed Roman in the beginning that donations to me were to be split amongst EDT members.

.

.

Jellette, thank you for taking the time man. It’s pretty amazing that you spend your free time away from work, hobbies, family and collecting religious hats to improve what is a vital part of most peoples lifes (well, if they are reading this blog anyway)…. Their phone. You’re an amazing talent and we all appreciate what you do for us. Thanks for letting people learn a little more about you.

.

.

Alright, there were many other questions that we just never got around to answering. Jellete and I both have very busy schedules… heck, up until recently my last blog post was in July. Hope that you guys understand… I will say the Q&A with Roman was pretty great, so if you are in the mood to learn more about a great developer, check that Q&A out too – it is on the blog.

.

Thanks!

About s15274n

I will do what I can to help support the Android Community!

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Advocate, Introduction, Q&A and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

