The Community Growth… A Problem?


This will sound odd from me. Bare with me.

.

I believe when Android was just starting to roll, one of the best things about it was the FEW places to go to for information. You had a select few Android blogs and for development, well, you had XDA. Compare that to now… there are a plethora of Android sites for information. Developers have their own sites. Some even refuse to post on XDA. Competitors to XDA are springing up (ie, Rootzwiki – which I am a fan of by the way).

.

I guess there is a lot of irony here. I am trying to spread information about Android and to help the community… ie, I am contradicting myself. I also said I like Rootzwiki… so WTF am I trying to say? Well, I guess I just feel overwhelmed by ALL of the places to get Android information. I guess I HATE having to go to multiple sites to check for new ROMs… or to help a noob.

.

I suppose I hate the Fragmentation of the Android Community more than that of it’s OS. Am I wrong? Have you noticed this? Are there ways to fix it? Thank God for Twitter!!

About s15274n

I will do what I can to help support the Android Community!

Posted on June 13, 2011, in Advocate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Well you can go to akaskrillers site lol….bad joke. Anyhow I feel the same way. Alot of sites with many different roms. One issue I see is Android is on so many different devices and development differs from device to device. So everyone has to look for their device then fine what is going to work best for them. This is were apple may actually be smart. One OS on a bunch of devices that all do the samething lol. The diversity of android is what I love but for someone just getting into the game it can be overwhelming.

    • Well you can go to akaskrillers site lol….bad joke. Anyhow I feel the same way. Alot of sites with many different roms. One issue I see is Android is on so many different devices and development differs from device to device. So everyone has to look for their device then find what is going to work best for them. This is were apple may actually be smart. One OS on a bunch of devices that all

    • Well said, but I can’t find it in me to compliment Apple again so recently.

  2. Red Hat? Anyone see my penguin? I know I left my operating system around here somewhere…. This is a developers system. Completely self-regulating (so far… how soon before our virtual laws are enforced?). Microsoft and Apple have income for R&D, but have to compete for a global market. Android developers are the new master programmers… JAVA, HTML, old school… they make your personal, local, organically grown Apps!

    What a rapid growth in the community! What is coming in five years, not just next year…

    Oh well, off to go contemplate reality in my “cloud”…

    • Well, Android will soon be in your car and home… that’s not “flying car” talk… that is legit. I can’t wait to control my home lights from my phone. My wife always leaves our lights on 🙂

      • Ooh, that’s good… turn the porch light on if I decide to go out after work… garage door opener…

        Man, when do I start building my bunker for when the robots and zombies come after us?

Leave a Reply

